Archive | 9:36 pm

Kick Ass Little Girls Rule the Silver Screen!

13 Apr

Las year I went to see  Kickass with a friend and I didn’t know what to expect, as I’m not a hardcore comic based movies, but to my surprise I enjoyed it very much, as did many people on Rotten Tomatoes.

But, what made the movie supercool is that there was a little girl who was awesome!  Played by Chloë Grace Moretz, she was very entertaining to watch, kicking butts left and right.  The film was refreshing and fun, and Chloe added a nice layer to the film.

This year’s Kickass movies is Hanna, which I saw this past weekend and throughly enjoyed as well.  I knew I wanted to see it when I first saw the preview for it and because I like the cast that includes: Saoirse Ronan, who I first saw in Atonement and was very impressed by her performance, and the great Cate Blanchett of course.  Hanna reminded me of what going to the movies was all about, as it had all the winning ingredients: beautiful cinematography and jaw-droping vistas, excellent cast, strong directing, interesting and exhilarating story, full of action and suspense, and simply perfect music by The Chemical Brothers, which added a nice ambiance to the experience.  The movie was not perfect, as it was a bit slow at the beginning while setting up, but that happens with many movies.  But all in all, I give the film a 4 out of 5 stars and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Interestingly enough Hanna also had a very similar rating to Kickass on Rotten Tomatoes, with users having a higher liking on them than critics.

And one last point to note is that both films did very well at the box office during opening weekend, with many fans interested in a similar experience, so the audience for these type of films is out there.  Hanna played in over 2,500 screens in North American Theaters, collecting a relatively impressive $12.4 million and taking the number 2 spot under the Disney film Hop.  Hanna beat the other new releases for last week, which is impressive in itself.  Arthur and Your Highness were playing at more theaters and had a wider appeal because of their budgets, cast and directors.

Hanna was brought to us by Focus Features, who usually focus on smaller artsier films; except for this year with the releases of The Eagle and now Hanna.  Nevertheless, both of their films still managed to keep an independent film flavor and quality to them, which I like.  Hanna was a film that was carried by a little girl, who seems to be getting better and better as an actress as she gets older, and like Chloe, Saoirse is paving the way for many other little girls to rule the world in the silver screen!

Here is Hanna’s trailer for your enjoyment: